Forum election summary

Dean Coclin

June 7, 2022

Forum Elections

- Forum 15: Special ballot for election of Chair (In accordance with Bylaw 4.1(c), Dean Coclin representing Digicert is hereby elected Chair of the CA/Browser Forum for a term commencing on November 1, 2020 and continuing through October 31, 2022.)
- Forum 16: Special ballot for election of Vice-Chair (In accordance with Bylaw 4.1 c, Karina Sirota representing Microsoft is hereby elected Vice Chair of the CA/Browser Forum for a term commencing on November 1, 2020 and continuing through October 31, 2021.) *NOTE: I believe the ending date should have been 2022 and that this was a typo in the ballot*

Server Cert WG elections

- **SC36**: Election of Server Certificate Working Group **Chair**. In accordance with Bylaw 4.1(c), **Jos Purvis** representing Cisco is hereby elected Chair of the Server Certificate Working Group for a term commencing on November 1, 2020 and continuing through October 31, 2022.
- SC49: Special ballot for election of Vice-Chair (Doug Beattie representing GlobalSign is hereby elected Vice-Chair of the Server Certificate Working Group for a term commencing on 1 November 2021 and continuing through 31 October 2023.) NOTE: the end date here is correct. Doug was elected when Wayne resigned earlier this year.

Code Signing WG elections

- **CSCWG-3**: Special ballot for election of **Chair.** In accordance with Bylaw 4.1(c), **Dean Coclin** representing DigiCert is hereby elected Chair of the Code Signing Certificate Working Group for a term commencing on November 1, 2020 and continuing through October 31, 2022.
- **CSCWG-5**: Special ballot for election of **Vice-Chair.** In accordance with Bylaw 4.1c, Bruce Morton representing Entrust is hereby elected Vice Chair of the Code Signing Certificate Working Group for a term commencing on November 1, 2020 and continuing through October 31, 2022.

S/MIME elections

• **SMCWG**: This group was chartered with the following text in the document: *Stephen Davidson will act as chair of the SMCWG until the first Working Group Teleconference, at which time the group will elect a chair and vice-chair. The chair and vice-chair will serve until October 31, 2022*

Network Security WG elections

Forum 17: Create Network Security Working Group (Forum level)

Chair – Clint Wilson shall be the initial Chair of the NetSec WG. **Vice-Chair** – David Kluge shall be the initial Vice-Chair of the NetSec WG.

Term. The Chair and Vice-Chair will serve until October 31, 2022, or until they are replaced, resign, or are otherwise disqualified. Thereafter, elections shall be held for chair and vice chair every two years in coordination with the Forum's election process and in conjunction with its election cycle. Voting shall occur in accordance with Bylaw 4.1(c). In the event of a midterm vacancy, the NetSec WG will hold a special election and the selected candidate will serve the remainder of the existing term.

Summary

Forum/Working Group	Chair election	Vice Chair election	
Forum	Oct 31, 2022	Oct. 31, 2022	
SCWG	Oct 31, 2022	Oct 31, 2023	
CSCWG	Oct 31, 2022	Oct 31, 2022	
SMCWG	Oct 31, 2022	Oct 31, 2022	
NetSec WG	Oct 31, 2022	Oct 31, 2022	

Next Steps and Reminders

- Tim to draft bylaw change to clarify WG officer re-elections
- Election notices will be sent out 60 days prior to start
- Vice Chairs have automatic nomination to Chair. Others can also be nominated.
- Forum Chair ineligible to run for Chair or Vice-Chair. Must sit out 1 term